Google tweaks Buzz privacy settings

Google said it is changing the way its completely crap attempt to create social network out of its Gmail users deals with privacy.

A Googler confessed on the firm's offical bog that it had got it wrong. Or rather: "Shortly after launching Google Buzz, we quickly realized we didn't get everything right and moved as fast as possible to improve the Buzz experience."

The most significant change is: "replacing auto-following with suggestions for people to follow. Rather than automatically setting you up to follow the people you email and chat with most, Google Buzz now suggests people for you to follow instead," the bog says.

Those that changed their privacy settings already, following the initial backlash that had those of us who use Gmail unceremoniously dumped into a "social" network we neither asked for nor wanted.

Last month, a bunch of US Congresspeople asked the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to investigate Google's disregard for people's privacy in Buzz.

We noticed that the Buzz icon used to have "one new" highlighted, as sif something had happened that we shoucl check out. There wasn't. It was lying. It's stopped lying now. There's a great new button. It;s called "Disable Google Buzz". We recommend it.