Facebook is testing a new 'delete account' feature in a bid to simplify the account removal process for those wishing to quit the platform.
According to a report on tech blog Slashdot, the company has replaced the 'Deactivate Account' option under 'Account Settings' with 'Deactivate or Delete Account', which will allow users to permanently delete their account and all the information they have shared from the platform.
Previously users were given a 14 days period to revive their account after they put in a deletion request. Their account would only be permanently deleted after the two week period.
With this new function users will now be able to instantly delete their accounts.
The move also highlights Facebook's efforts to simplify the account management features on the platform, after the company had been severely criticised for its complicated account settings options.
Facebook has said that the feature is only available on a select few accounts during its testing period, but will be rolled out across all accounts over time.