Facebook Users Warned Of 'Dislike' Button Scam

Security software vendor Sophos has warned users of a new survey scam on Facebook that offers to install a 'Dislike' button onto users' profile pages.

Scammers are luring unsuspecting users into installing a rogue application, which, once approved, can gain access the users' profile information.

The application automatically updates users' status message to : “I just got the dislike button, so now I can dislike all of your dumb posts lol!!!” and starts posting the links to the rogue application on their friends' walls.

The scam also makes users complete a survey for which the attackers are paid a commission fee.

Head security researcher at Sophos, Graham Cluley, told BBC News that the attack was similar to a survey scam that lured users by offering a video of an Anaconda snake vomiting a whole Hippo.

Facebook has said that it will be removing the offending application and links from the platform as soon as possible.

Speaking to BBC News, a Facebook spokesperson said: “We always encourage people to not click on links that appear suspicious - even if posted from a friend.”

Topics

Web