Friendster Plans To Redesign Its Site, Delete User Content

The nearly defunct social networking platform Friendster has warned that it will delete users' content on May 31 in the process of overhauling the site.

In a message posted on its website, the company reported that the platform will be undergoing fundamental changes in the coming few weeks and that it needs to delete content before the changes are complete.

Users have been asked to download any content they wish to keep, including photos, videos, comments and posts, before May 31. The company is also offering a free tool that will help users download the content stored on their accounts.

Friendster, which was among first social networking platforms launched, was once considered the premier social networking platform before it was supplanted by MySpace, which was in turn replaced by Facebook.

“Our improved site is designed to create new profiles that allow you to connect differently with people and do things differently than other networking sites. Basically, the new site will complement your existing online presence in other social networking sites,” the company said on its website.

“Your Friendster account will not be deleted when these new features and changes take place. You may continue to login to Friendster using your existing login details. Your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information, wallet and games,” Friendster added.

The redesign is going under the name Project Neutron, but no other details are currently available.