Facebook Implements New 'Timeline' Feature

On Tuesday, Facebook announced its latest feature, Timeline, would be rolled out to all 800 million users worldwide over the next few weeks. Once the feature is implemented, users will have 7 days to go back to the earlier version. However, they will not be able to totally avoid the Timeline implementation.

Timeline was one of the biggest visible changes to Facebook introduced last fall. Its purpose is to change the user's profile and turn it into a virtual CV of one's life.

On the official blog, Paul McDonald, a Timeline engineering manager, posted, "Last year we introduced timeline, a new kind of profile that lets you highlight the photos, posts and life events that help you tell your story," as published on Facebook Blog.

The user can learn more about Timeline by taking a quick tour available at the top of the user's timeline. In fact, users can get the feature in advance by going to "Introducing Timeline page" and clicking the "Get Timeline."

This feature is compulsory in nature and it will automatically go live after seven days if users do not publish Timeline in the review period. Thus, it is unavoidable. It remains to be seen how Facebook users will react to this massively visible change.