Flickr Prevents Photo Sharing With Pinterest 'Kill-Switch' Integration

Recently, Pinterest launched a new feature named "Pinterest Kill Switch" - resulting in Yahoo's photo sharing website "Flickr" integrating this very function.

Available as a small HTML code that can be embedded in any website, the embedment allows a person to block users from applying the "pin" facility as well as any other picture-bookmark to content used on the website.

A representative of Flickr explained: "Flickr has implemented the tag and it appears on all non-public/non-safe pages, as well as when a member has disabled sharing of their Flickr content."

They added: "This means only content that is 'safe,' 'public' and has the sharing button enabled can be pinned to Pinterest." reported PC Mag.

Pinterest is a relatively new and popular social networking website that has just over 10 million registered users. However, there is concern over the legality of the various content posted by the users, including issues such as the status of the copyrighted material shared on this platform and its distribution.

The adoption of the kill-switch feature was created in order to prevent users from sharing contents of Flickr, but there is still a method allowing users to execute it manually - simply by taking a screen grab of the image and uploading it onto Pinterest.

Whilst a nifty invention, it appears that Flickr still has a long way to go in terms of approving copyrighted material.