Facebook Photo Sync rolling out to everyone

After three months of testing, Facebook is rolling out its Facebook Photo Sync feature to all users.

The upgrade allows people to automatically sync photos taken on their phone to a private album on the social network. From there, users can select their favourite images and share them with family and friends.

Saved in a secret section of Facebook, access to synced photos isn't readily available to anyone but their owner, who can move select shots, via an Internet connection on a PC, mobile phone, or tablet.

To access the new option, visit the left-side sidebar, then scroll down to Photos. When it becomes available, tap the Synced button, which will be located at the bottom of this section, next to the Photos of You and Albums buttons.

Another screen will then pop up for confirmation. "Get the photos in your camera roll to Facebook automatically," it says. "Your photos stay private until you choose shots to share." Click the Sync Photos button at the bottom once more to begin synchronising.

PC users can follow a similar path: visit the Timeline, click Photos, then click Synced From Phone at the top before following step-by-step instructions. Once linked, Synced (on mobile devices) and Synced From Phone (on the PC) will bring you directly to your collection of private images.

Facebook has been testing the new option since August, a news release said today, and allows users to sync up to 2GB of photos.

Don't expect to start pushing all of your favourite shots onto the social network just yet though. It is currently still rolling out to all of Facebook's 1 billion users.

If you decide you don't want to sync your pics, you also have the option to turn off access.

The Facebook app is currently available for free in the Android Google Play store and the Apple iTunes Store. The newest version also provides a Share link to re-post stories from the news feed, as well as the ability to tag friends in any post, comment and photo.