Apple to kick off WWDC 2013 on 10 June as iOS 7 launch looms

Highlighters at the ready, folks: Apple has revealed details about the 2013 iteration of its Worldwide Developers Conference, which will take place in San Francisco between 10-14 June.

Tickets to the annual showcase, to be held at the Moscone West exhibition centre, will go on sale to tomorrow at 18:00 BST (10:00 PDT; 13:00 EST) and are widely expected to sell out almost instantly.

To buy a ticket to WWDC 2013, you have to be a card carrying member of the iOS Developer Program, iOS Developer Enterprise Program, or the Mac Developer Program. Oh, and you'll have to have a cool $1,599 (£1,050) going spare as well - flights and the like obviously not included.

While WWDC is pitched primarily at Apple's developer community, it is also often used as a platform for the company to launch new technology, especially on the software front.

Apple has remained typically tight-lipped about its intentions for the event, but did reveal that attendees will "learn the future of iOS and OS X" at the yearly hobnob.

"We look forward to gathering at WWDC 2013 with the incredible community of iOS and OS X developers," said Philip Schiller, Apple senior vice president of worldwide marketing.

He added: "Our developers have had the most prolific and profitable year ever, and we're excited to show them the latest advances in software technologies and developer tools to help them create innovative new apps. We can't wait to get new versions of iOS and OS X into their hands at WWDC."

In other words, it's highly likely that the snazzy new logo won't be the only item Apple breaks cover with in association with this year's WWDC - iOS 7 and Mac OS X version 10.9 are now firmly fixed on the horizon as well.

What's more, if professional fanboys like analyst Gene Munster are to be believed, WWDC 2013 may also see the launch of the iPhone 5S, iPhone mini, or a similarly important new Apple hardware offering.