Apple starts sending iOS 7 live, but when will rollout for UK iPhones begin?

As promised at the 10 September iPhone 5S and 5C launch (pictured, top), Apple is today set to release the latest iteration of its mobile operating system, iOS 7.

The new software will be available on a number of devices, including the iPhone 4 and above, the second-generation iPad and above, the iPad mini, and the fifth-generation iPod touch.

At present, ITProPortal's resident fanboys have yet to be offered the upgrade, but it's thought that iOS 7 may not actually go live in the UK until around 18:00 BST (10:00 PDT; 13:00 EST). Stay tuned, as we'll let you know as soon as we get offered the boost.

(UPDATE: We can confirm that iOS 7 updates should now be available OTA and via iTunes for most UK Apple devices)

The update will arrive both via iTunes and as an OTA download - for more, be sure to check out our step-by-step guide to downloading Apple's iOS 7, which tells you everything you need to know about getting your hands on the platform.

Apple's latest mobile OS offers a number of new features, headlined by its radically overhauled design. The 'flattened' look of iOS 7 has proved a significant talking point for many onlookers, though the software also boasts a number of further changes.

Other important iOS 7 tweaks include changes to the control centre, multitasking bar, and notification centre, as well as new app folder functionality and photography options, plus the integration of social media search into Siri.

For the full picture, navigate over to our iOS 7 vs iOS 6 comparison, or get behind the story by exploring the five best iOS 7 features you may not know about yet.

404

Sorry! Page not found.

The article you requested has either been moved or removed from the site.