Google Translate adds 10 more languages to its sets

Search engine Google has added 10 new languages to its free translation service bringing it to a whopping 23-language offering (ed : that's more than 500 language pairs) and has also added a "detect language" option.

This feature allows Google to automatically detect the language of the text under scrutiny; arguably, the longer the text, the more accurate the translation will be.

The newly featured languages include Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian and Swedish.

Google also offers a gadget which allows people to translate to get their website translated on the fly while developers will get their hands on an AJAX language API for more ambitious projects.

Machine translation though is far from being a precise science and Google is working hard to improve the quality of its translation tools.