Facebook has denied claims that its Phonebook feature is publishing phone numbers and user details on the social network.
The social network's Phonebook feature, from its official iPhone app, was allegedly found to be sending phone numbers and other user details to the platform, where they could be viewed by anyone.
The Facebook Phonebook feature is capable of sending friends' contact details to the platform, something which has caused an uproar among Facebook users.
However, the social networking giant has denied the claims, and has said the contact information shared on Facebook is only viewable to that user alone. Facebook says that the feature acts as a back-up for the contact information.
The company also claims that users are duly informed about the implications of syncing their address book before they do so.