Facebook ePrivacy App Is A Scam

An app on Facebook, that made the bogus promise that it could show who had viewed an individual user’s profile, has been revealed to be a scam.

The ePrivacy app, which has so far caught out 60,000 people, does not allow users to see who has been checking out their profile as advertised. Instead it simply steals private data from the user’s Facebook account and then posts messages on their wall saying: “OMG OMG OMG… I cant believe this actually works! Now you really can see who viewed your profile!” Thereby luring more unlucky victims into the scam.

Security experts Sophos warned users on its nakedsecurity blog: “Plenty of Facebook users would *love* to know who has been checking them out online.. but unfortunately scammers are aware of this, and use the lure of such functionality as a way to trick you into making bad decisions.”

Sophos also said that to prevent further data theft, users should remove all references to the app in the news feed and then remove the right of the tool to access their profile via the privacy settings.

Facebook has been informed of the rogue app.