Skip to main content

BT Announces 41 UK Market Towns To Receive Super-Fast Broadband

BT has revealed the names of 41 UK market towns set to receive super fast broadband as part of the company’s fibre broadband deployment.

In a press release, the company said that towns such as Epping, Wimbourne, Dartmouth Bathgate, Bishop Auckland, Knutsford and many more are to receive the upgrade as part of their country-wide £2.5 billion fibre-broadband roll-out.

Steve Robertson, CEO of BT Openreach, said in a statement: “We want to extend the fibre footprint and the benefits the technology brings to more rural areas. So we're constantly evolving our deployment model to make sure we can bring the benefits of the technology to the maximum number of people within the scope of our commercial deployment.”

“The inclusion of 41 market towns in our roll-out plan firmly demonstrates our commitment to finding solutions for local communities,” Robertson explained.

When the service is fully rolled-out, web users in all the 41 towns should be able to enjoy Internet speeds of up to 40Mb/s. The service is expected to be ready by Spring 2012.

The 41 exchanges to receive the upgrade are:

Alfreton, Baldock, Bathgate, Billinge, Bishop Auckland, Blandford, Dalkeith, Dartmouth, Dereham, Devizes, Dorking, Edinburgh Musselburgh, Epping, Faversham, Filey, Frinton-On-Sea, Great Dunmow, Halstead, Hungerford, Kidlington, Knutsford, Mirfield, Montrose, Morpeth, Nantwich, Newmarket, Oswestry, Penrith, Pontycymmer, Rainford, Ripley, Royston (South Yorkshire), Sandwich, Sheerness, Sheringham, Stocksbridge, Stourport, Wallingford, Wendover, Westbury & Wimbourne.