Skip to main content

Four HP Directors Step Down In Board Shake-up

Hewlett-Packard has replaced four members of its board of directors as a part of a management shake-up in the aftermath of former CEO Mark Hurd's departure.

The company's new leadership - chief executive Leo Apotheker and chairman Ray Lane - is trying to subdue the anger of a number of shareholders at the way in which Hurd's sacking was handled.

HP said that the company's directors Joel Hyatt, John Joyce, Robert Ryan and Lucille Salhany will not be standing for re-election by shareholders and will be leaving voluntarily.

The company will be bringing former eBay chief executive Meg Whitman, former chief investment officer of General Electric Gary Reiner, former chief executive of Alcatel-Lucent Patricia Russo, chief executive of Booz & Co Shumeet Banerji and chief executive of Axa Private Equity Dominique Senequier.

The company said in a statement: “With our new leadership, it's a natural time to assess the composition of the board. We thank our current directors for their outstanding service to HP and welcome the opportunity to work with our new members.”