Skip to main content

Windows 8 Store Expanding To 33 New Countries

Microsoft has taken the decision to expand the Windows 8 Store to 33 new markets, making the marketplace available to a total of 38 countries. Each of them will have access to submitting applications and as described by developers, this is just the first step towards a global coverage.

The Windows 8 Store has supported submissions from France, Germany, India, Japan, China and the United States until now. Four of these countries had a dedicated app catalogue, where users could install location-specific software.

Starting with this new update, Microsoft is going to extend the number of dedicated catalogues up to 26, and include 33 new countries in the process.

The list contains Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Columbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and United Kingdom.

Any developer wanting to take advantage of the Windows 8 Store has to pay an annual registration fee, one that's significantly lower for individuals than companies. For example, those stationed in the UK will have to pay somewhere within the region of £32 and £65.

The new version of the marketplace will also contain 7 new languages, bringing the total number of supported languages to 109.

Application submissions will only be accepted by a selected range of partners, mostly those who take part in the Windows Dev Camps. Once the preview stage concludes (to be read as beta), the Windows Store borders will begin to widen.

Source: MSDN (opens in new tab)