Skip to main content

Xbox One delayed in eight European countries until 2014

Customers in eight European countries will have to wait until 2014 for the Xbox One after they weren’t included on Microsoft’s “confirmed” list of territories that will get the console on launch.

Microsoft confirmed that would-be customers in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Norway, and Russia will now get the console “as soon as possible in 2014”.

“While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches. This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country,” the company stated in a press release.

Customers that have already pre-ordered the console in the eight countries are encouraged to contact their local retailer and Microsoft, by way of an apology, will provide pack-in game with the console on launch day.

The 13 markets that will still get their hands on the console in 2013 include the UK as well as Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain, and the United States

The decision echoes a similar move this week by Sony to suspend or not guarantee pre-orders of the PlayStation 4 for launch day with fears of a rush for both consoles ahead of the Christmas period when the two are likely to launch.

An official release date for either console is yet to be confirmed with the Toys R Us website the only company to get close to an actual date with tentative dates of 29 November for the Xbox One and 13 December for the PlayStation 4.

With the reduction in launch countries and Sony’s decision to halt pre-orders it won’t be long until Xbox One console pre-orders are either unavailable or halted.