Skip to main content

EE adds 14 more towns to 4G network ahead of prepay rollout

Mobile operator EE has added 14 more towns to its 4G coverage, taking the total number of towns connected to the superfast service to 131.

Today's announcement comes just a day before the launch of 4G's pay-as-you-go mobile plans, the first of its kind in the UK.

4G EE will now be available to customers in Benfleet, Caerphilly, Caldicot, Canvey Island, Carlisle, Chepstow, Cwmbran, Grays, Harlow, Hatfield, Kenilworth, Rayleigh, Southport and Worksop.

EE is expected to continue its 4G coverage rollout, aiming to cover 98 per cent of the UK population by the end of next year, a full year before other networks. It currently has more superfast 4G coverage than all other networks combined.

Last week it was revealed that EE has now signed up 1.2 million 4G customers, with third quarter results showing half a million new signups, despite an overall decline in its customer base.

This number accounts for around eight per cent of EE's customer base, a figure it hopes will reach 10 per cent by the beginning of next month following the launch of its prepay 4G service.

The CEO of EE, Olaf Swantee, said, "One year on from our launch we are bringing 4G to even more places, making the UK's fastest mobile network available to even more people.

"We continue to grow our 4G coverage all around the country, and the new range of plans gives consumers and businesses more flexibility and choice in how they access superfast mobile."