Skip to main content

Superfast broadband to reach 44,000 homes in Devon and Somerset

Superfast broadband will reach over 40,000 more homes and businesses in Devon and Somerset in early 2014 as the roll out continues at a fast pace.

Connecting Devon and Somerset, which is in charge of the overall rollout, will bring the service to a further 31 communities by March 2014 with 44,000 homes and businesses set to benefit as a result.

It brings the amount of communities up to 38 and the aim of the game for Connecting Devon and Somerset is to bring the service to as many rural areas of the two counties as possible.

“Alongside the private sector’s commercial roll-out, the Connecting Devon and Somerset programme aims to make superfast broadband speeds of 24Mbps and above available to around 90% of homes and businesses by the end of 2016,” stated a post on the group’s website.

The group is also aiming to provide a service that has a minimum speed of 2Mbps to all premises within the area covered and “is actively lobbying for more funding to further extend the availability of superfast broadband.”

The announcement was accompanied by a map that shows all the areas across Devon and Somerset that will be covered by March and there is also a postcode checker that helps residents work out if their area is covered.

“The news that 44,000 homes and businesses will have access to superfast speeds by March 2014 is fantastic news for the residents of Devon and Somerset. The UK already does more business online than any other European country and widespread access to superfast speeds will provide a welcome boost to the local economy,” Ed Vaizey, minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries told ITPro.

The 31 communities to receive the service are as follows: Bishop’s Hull, Bridford, Chilton Trinity, Christow, Combe Florey, Comeytrowe, Corfe, Cotford St. Luke, Crediton, Dunchideock, Exminster, Hatherleigh, Hemyock, Newton St Cyres, North Tawton, Nynehead, Okehampton, Okehampton Hamlets, Petrockstow, Ruishton, Sampford Arundel, Sandford, Shillingford St George, Shobrooke, South Tawton, Stoke St Gregory, Thurloxton, Trull, Wembdon, West Buckland and West Monkton.