Skip to main content

Tech Trailblazers Awards hands out Regional Cups with voting closing this week

The Tech Trailblazers Awards has announced the winners of its first ever Regional Cups with voting still wide open for the technology specific categories that form the main chunk of the awards ceremony.

Related: Tech Trailblazers issues rallying cry as early bird discount deadline looms

Regional Cups were handed out to the best performing companies across five different regions around the world with Trailblazers Cup prizes handed out to winners from Africa and the Middle East, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America.

"The Tech Trailblazers Awards entries were very strong from around the world and, after the initial round of voting by our judges, we have recognized those startups with the highest scores from each of the five regions,” stated Rose Ross, founder of the Tech Trailblazers Awards.

Kenyan firm Webdesk took the African and Middle East prize with India’s PharmaSecure bagging the prize for the Asian-Pacific region. Over in Europe Norwegian company Crypho took home the gong whereas Argentinean firm Tambero bagged the prize in Latin America and the North American Trailblazers Cup was won by Silicon Valley based Nutanix.

The Regional Cups were dished out to the start-ups that have tallied the highest scores across each of the five regions, and each of those that won one of the Regional Cups is still up for awards in the main categories, for which voting closes on 23 January at 23:59 PT.

Companies are shortlisted in categories including big data, cloud, infosecurity, mobile, networking, storage, sustainable IT and virtualisation with the public voting in a process that is managed by Wazoku.

Related: Tech Trailblazers launches partnership with African startup network AfriLabs

Voting for the awards has been open since December and the second annual version of the enterprise IT startup awards has seen an 18 per cent increase in entries compared to the previous year. Finalists are drawn from a number of territories including Argentina, Belgium, France, Iceland, India, Ireland, Kenya, Nigeria, Norway, and Spain, as well as the UK and US.